It’s not just in the UK…

My parents back in the US sent me this article today: The Associated Press: Half of new grads are jobless or underemployed

In the US, studies have found that:

About 1.5 million, or 53.6 percent, of bachelor’s degree-holders under the age of 25 last year were jobless or underemployed, the highest share in at least 11 years.

and also (I’m sure my parents especially enjoyed reading this detail):

While there’s strong demand in science, education and health fields, arts and humanities flounder.

College graduates who majored in zoology, anthropology, philosophy, art history and humanities were among the least likely to find jobs appropriate to their education level; those with nursing, teaching, accounting or computer science degrees were among the most likely.

Although the threat of being unemployed come graduation next fall is very real, I think my far greater fear is underemployment. I have made a huge investment (in terms of time, effort, and yes, money) in my education, and it can be disheartening to think that I might not be able to put my BA and MA to use in my first career. It’s even more frustrating to see that I’m actually ineligible for some amazing opportunities (like curatorial apprenticeships at the V&A) because of my degrees. While I enthusiastically support efforts to employ young people who may not otherwise be able to access the CCIs, there are some times when I selfishly feel cheated, as though my commitment to academics is actually working against me.

Leave a Reply

